The Law Office OfA.Randolph Hough, P.A
DUI - Criminal Defense
An arrest is not a conviction.
Call for free initial consultation.
803-386-0189 800-577-1013

Subsequent DUI offenses in South Carolina

In the state of South Carolina, charges for driving under the influence of alcohol are relatively harsh. Drivers can end up with a criminal record after their first offense when being caught driving under the influence, and there are strict zero tolerance laws relating to drivers under the age of 21.

If you have been accused of a subsequent DUI offense in the state of South Carolina, it is understandable that you may be worried about the consequences. While the consequences of a successful conviction can be quite serious, it is important to know that a strong defense, depending on the circumstances, can have the potential to change that.

How do South Carolina DUI laws work?

In general across the United States, a person is considered to be unlawfully driving under the influence of alcohol if his or her blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is measured at 0.08 percent or higher. However, in South Carolina, the laws are even more strict. If a driver has a BAC that is measured at between 0.05 percent and 0.08 percent and he or she displays evidence of being impaired, an inference can be made that the driver is under the influence.

What are the consequences of a subsequent DUI offense in South Carolina?

Second offenses and subsequent offenses in South Carolina can be severe. You may face up to one year in jail, one year with a revoked license and a fine of $5,100 if your Breathalyzer test is measured at 0.10 percent or lower. However, if you were measured with a BAC of between 0.10 percent and 0.16 percent, you will likely face up to two years in jail and a raised fine of $5,500. Furthermore, a BAC of 0.16 percent or higher will result in even more severe penalties, will the prospect of serving up to three years in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Subsequent offenses become increasingly severe, and a fourth offense will result in a permanent license revocation and up to seven years in jail.

If you have been accused of driving under the influence in South Carolina, it is important that you take action immediately in order to stand the best chance of defending yourself and getting the most favorable result.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information